Monday, January 29, 2007

Pork Quality and Assurance

Every Illinois FFA and 4-H member who are showing and selling their swine in the state of Illinois must attend a Pork Quality and Assurance Class. Classes can be offered by the county extension offices or by local Ag Teachers. Kendall County Extension and Newark FFA will have Kendall County's Pork Q & A Class, March 28th at 7 p.m. at Newark High School Ag Department.

Wednesday, January 03, 2007

Newark Ag Department Greenhouse Grant

Several Illinois High Schools Receive State Grants to Remodel, Enhance Agricultural Education Departments and Programs

RANTOUL, IL - Seventeen recipients of the Illinois FFA Alumni Council "Remodel your Ag Department" grants were named recently, along with 20 recipients of the "Improving your Agricultural Education Program" grants. The funding was provided through the Illinois State Board of Education's (ISBE) agricultural education line item.

Grant proposals were reviewed by a committee made up of Illinois Leadership Council for Agricultural Education (ILCAE) and Illinois Committee for Agricultural Education (ICAE) members. Recipients were selected based on each project's goals and objectives, plan of action, impact, budget, district financial need and School Report Card Status.

"Providing grant money allows high school agricultural education departments to better prepare students for college and the more than 300 agricultural careers available," says Jay Runner, coordinator, Facilitating Coordination in Agricultural Education (FCAE). "FFA and Supervised Agricultural Experience (SAE) programs directly and positively affect local economies. In 2005, 9,544 agricultural education students generated a net income of $10.2 million through their individual SAE programs."

"Remodel your Ag Department" grants of up to $3,000 per school were made to enhance, remodel or organize agriculture department facilities. The grants will be matched locally, dollar for dollar. Full grant funding was awarded to:
Anna-Jonesboro High School Eldorado High School
Okawville High School Orion High School
Southeastern High School Tuscola Community High School

Partial grant funding was provided to:
Barry Community High School Cisne High School
Hartsburg-Emden High School Hinckley-Big Rock High School
Iroquois West High School Mt. Vernon Township High School
Pleasant Hill High School Ridgeview High School
Salem Community High School Shiloh High School
Webber Township High School

"Improving Agricultural Education" Program grants up to $10,000 per district were made to schools to fund major program improvement projects. Schools must provide a 50 percent local match. Grant recipients and improvements include:
Charleston High School Welding Lab
Cissna Park High School Moving into the 21st Century
Egyptian High School Ag Classroom Modernization
Galva High School Ag A La Carte Wireless Classroom
Harrisburg High School Greenhouse
Hartsburg-Emden High School Greenhouse
Heyworth High School Agriculture Computers
Marissa High School Greenhouse Addition
Midland Henry High School Wireless Classroom
Newark High School Greenhouse
Normal Community West High School Ag Mechanics Program Development
Oakland High School Classroom Organization
Oakwood High School Ag Department Renovation
Orion High School Greenhouse
Paris High School Welding Lab
Princeville High School Greenhouse
Putnam County High School Mobile Technology and Wireless
Red Hill High School Greenhouse
St. Elmo High School Greenhouse
Wayne City High School Agriculture Computer Center

The statewide agricultural education team includes the Illinois Leadership Council for Agricultural Education (ILCAE), the Governor-appointed Illinois Committee for Agricultural Education (ICAE), the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE), Illinois FFA and its associated groups, Illinois Association of Vocational Agriculture Teachers (IAVAT), Illinois Association Community College Agriculture Instructors (IACCAI), University Council, Illinois Agriculture in the Classroom, and FCAE.